Ten Minutes

nv-0918-2016-237

Intent on our destinations, how many anonymous places do we pass along The Road without slowing, or glancing out a window to see what we’re missing?

Driving southeast from Hanksville, Utah, towards Blanding, I pulled into an unnamed, unsigned graveled area off the highway and parked my truck. A few minutes to stretch the legs, rest tired eyes, listen to the quiet (which hummed in the twilight), and look around. That was all I wanted. This is what I found.

nv-0918-2016-240-on1

The traveler sees what he sees, the tourist sees what he has come to see. —Gilbert K. Chesterton

 

2 thoughts on “Ten Minutes”

  1. On our way to a couple of destinations, we passed a sign for a state park. I noticed the sign, but we never stopped. Then I’m on line trying to name a bird I’ve seen and what do I learn but that this state park is one of the best birding places around. We’ll be going back. Thank you for the reminder. 🙂

    1. Everyone does this, I think; Ulrich and I drove past the signs for Valley of Fire State Park, 45 miles north of Las Vegas, the first three SW trips we did, having done no research on the site…BIG mistake. Fortunately, we’ve included it the past two times, but still…

Leave a Reply

