The Tall One

AK-0802-2013-179 Panorama ON1
On a visit to Alaska in 2013, I had one chance to see Denali, and was not disappointed. It dominates its landscape much as an ocean overpowers a beach.

I processed the image using a combination of programs, mostly ON1 Photo 10; removing some of the sharpness that is revered by many, I opted for an overall worn look, realizing as I finished that the effect is similar to the scratches and smudges on transparencies that were returned to me from a stock agency, many years ago. So in that respect, this image is definitely filmlike.

All right everyone, line up alphabetically according to your height. —Casey Stengel
7 thoughts on “The Tall One”

    1. I’m glad you like the photo; as I’ve aged I’ve come to recognize, and appreciate, that “athletes” aren’t necessarily part of a team (although climbers usually are), don’t need to score points or goals or touchdowns to succeed, and that climbers, hikers, bikers, skiers, and dancers (among others) top the charts for athleticism. Watching the film “Meru” was the last bolt in the ice for me, and I wish your friend his own success in May.

      1. Thanks for the lovely reply! I haven’t seen the movie yet but was quite impressed by the trailer when it came out. Waiting for it to come out on DVD. I am sure I will love it! Thanks for sharing such an awesome photo!

      2. You’re very welcome! And Meru is out on DVD; my wife got it from Netflix a couple of months ago. I watched it twice, and it was even better the second time through.

      3. Oh, I didn’t know that. I have a lot of catchup to do… I haven’t even watch the new Star Wars movie (I know, it is irrelevant but I am just saying I don’t watch much lately, let alone I don’t have a TV because I am always outside!!! LOL). I’ll definitely check out Meru! Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

