A Ghost Town Sunset

OR-1977-AR-381 Hardman

Hardman, Oregon, was well on its way to becoming a ghost town before I stopped late on a summer’s day in 1977. Long after the sun had set a thin band of clouds lingered, high in the western sky, catching fireball colors for my roll of Kodachrome. It was simply good luck to discover a window that was intact. I set up my tripod on the highway’s center line, knowing I could take my time, surrounded by pioneer ghosts and mesmerized by the almost acrylic hues spread across those old panes of glass.

Leave a Reply

