Posted in Abstract, Photography, Rusted & Abandoned, Trucks, Vehicles

1977 Chevy Pickup

OR-0905-2013-031

I drove to Thompson’s Mills yesterday morning, and thinking about it today I’m pretty sure the bad significant change in weather that happened then affected me. Even a large mug of strong coffee failed to kick-start the internal photographer, so I left my equipment in the office and wandered around, hoping some thing would stand out and break the atmosphere that had settled over me.

Behind one of the mill’s barns a rotting 1977 Chevrolet pickup sits in the weeds, awaiting an uncertain fate. It’s too far gone to restore (and too expensive for the park’s budget), but a great place for insect nests (be ready to duck if you put up the hood!). It’s also an abstract canvas, and as I discovered it had just enough juice left to turn over my own creative motor.

OR-0905-2013-038

Leave a Reply

