Posted in Photography

A Swarm of Bees

Here’s something I hadn’t seen during twenty-five years of living in a mixed forest—a swarm of bees. My wife and I had finished lunch out on the deck when I heard them, faint at first but rising in volume as their number grew, swirling in the afternoon sunshine. Watching their flight patterns I thought of whirlwinds crossing a desert, and models of frantic atoms in science books.

The bees settled down on an oak branch as I set up my tripod with a 400mm lens, and have remained there all day (I checked the tree tonight as darkness fell), although a bit of reading on this phenomenon suggests their visit will last only a day or two before they move on.

Leave a Reply

