Camera Dreams

I dream that someday the step between my mind and my finger will no longer be needed. And that simply by blinking my eyes, I shall make pictures. Then, I think, I shall really have become a photographer.
—Alfred Eisenstaedt

In the early 1970s Kazuo Tashima, the president of Minolta, pondered what the camera-of-the-future might be like, and as I recall (his comments were part of a feature in the company’s glossy publication Minolta Mirror) he thought it could be a device unlike any camera of the day: images would be recorded directly onto sensitized material directly from the photographer’s mind, via wires.

An iPhone certainly doesn’t look like a camera, and fortunately requires no wiring to connect it to a photographer. And Mr. Tashima’s sensitized material turned out to be a computer chip. But it does make you wonder: how long will it be before a blink, or speech, replaces the finger and makes Eisenstaedt’s dream come true?

Leave a Reply

